Parliamentary Elections Kick Off in Tajikistan

1 марта, 2020 06:10

DUSHANBE, 01.03.2020. (NIAT Khovar) – The elections for the Deputies of the Assembly of Representatives of the Supreme Assembly of Tajikistan and local Assemblies of People’s Deputies of the Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region (GBAO), regions, Dushanbe, cities and districts kicked off today at 6:00 local time throughout the country.

According to the Constitutional Law “On Elections to the Supreme Assembly of Tajikistan”, a single republican constituency and 41 single-member constituencies, as well as 3412 polling stations were formed in the country to organize and conduct elections. 39 polling stations were established in 30 foreign countries, reports the Tajik Central Commission for Elections and Referenda (CCER).

In accordance with the above Constitutional Law, out of 63 deputies of the Assembly of Representatives 41 are elected in single-mandate constituencies and 22 in the single republican constituency according to the lists of political parties.

The right to nominate candidates for deputies belongs to political parties, as well as to citizens through self-nomination. Nomination of candidates for deputies in single-member constituencies from political parties was carried out by city and district bodies of political parties at their plenums (conferences), and in the process of self-nomination, by submitting to the district commission a statement of intent to run for a candidate.

After a comprehensive examination of the documents submitted by political parties the CCER registered the following lists of candidates with their respective resolutions:

Agrarian Party of Tajikistan consisting of 13 people;

Socialist Party of Tajikistan consisting of 5 people;

People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan consisting of 26 people;

Party of Economic Reforms of Tajikistan consisting of 7 people;

Democratic Party of Tajikistan consisting of 4 people;

Social Democratic Party of Tajikistan consisting of 5 people;

Communist Party of Tajikistan consisting of 5 people.

Thus, 65 candidates apply for 22 deputy seats in the single republican constituency.

Lists of voters for the elections are compiled for each polling station. Local executive bodies ensure the registration of voters and transmit information about voters living in the respective territory to the precinct election commissions.

The list includes Tajik citizens who have reached the age of 18 by the day of the election, permanently or temporarily residing by the time the list is drawn up on the territory of this polling station and having the right to vote. Voters, for some reason missing in the list, are included in it by decision of the precinct election commission.

Each voter (except for those voting in Dushanbe and districts of republican subordination (DRS)) will receive five ballots. Residents of Dushanbe and DRS will receive four ballots. Voters will receive ballots indicating the parties that submitted their lists of candidates for the republican constituency. In addition, voters will be given ballots with the names of candidates in single-mandate constituencies and candidates running for regional, city, district and rural Assemblies of People’s Deputies.

Polling stations located in Tajikistan will close today at 20:00 local time.

According to CCER, over 4 million 900 thousand voters are included in the lists for participation in the elections. Elections are considered valid if more than 50% of voters come to polling stations.

Over 230 international observers from various international organizations will observe the elections. In addition, more than 250 representatives of local and foreign media will cover them.

lections preliminary results will be announced within 24 hours after the end of the vote, and the final results no later than two weeks after the end of the election.


Archive photo

1 марта, 2020 06:10

Other news in section